Postcrossing Official Forum
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Can stamp design affect delivery?
nereism

Country Flag:
Canada

Canada
Postcrossing Username: NereisM

puzzled.gif posted on 15-8-2017 at 02:35 PM
Can stamp design affect delivery?

This is my first time on the forum so I wasn't sure where to put this, but I have a sort of strange question:

In Canada, for our 150th anniversary we have a special series of stamps for accomplishments. One of them is for legalizing same-sex marriage. The stamp features the rainbow pride flag and says "marriage equality".

Maybe I am overthinking, but if I used this stamp on postcards/envelopes going to countries that do not support lgbtq+ (at a government level), could there be an issue with it being accepted into the country? Could it be turned away due to the subject of the stamp?
Marnie

Postcrossing Username: Marnie

Mood: =^^=

[*] posted on 15-8-2017 at 03:26 PM

I don't know, but I don't myself use the Tom of Finland stamps when I send mail to our eastern neighbours (or other countries which are not so "liberal"). This is "just in case" thing, I'm probably overthinking too. :)
Kleine.Liebe

Country Flag:
Germany

Germany
Postcrossing Username: Kleine_Liebe

[*] posted on 18-8-2017 at 10:34 AM

Welcome to the Forum, nereism!

I don't think you are overthinking this issue. In some countries the issue of marriage equality isn't a great topic to talk about. I don't think your card would be turned away, but it might get "lost" (= thrown away/destroyed by "accident" of course!).

It's great, that Canada released those stamps, but I'd use them for countries that support the issue. However, I would have used the stamps to Germany, although same-sex couples will be able to marry starting this fall. It's all about the country you are sending to. Liberal countries will accept the stamp rather than less liberal ones.
Xapphirea

Country Flag:
Netherlands

Netherlands