Postcrossing Official Forum
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: The 'pain' of expired postcards!
blue_butterfly

Postcrossing Username: Blue_butterfly

[*] posted on 22-2-2019 at 04:38 AM
The 'pain' of expired postcards!

I'm still quite new to Postcrossing, having joined last summer. I adore it. I've just had my third expired card and they always make me so sad!! I realise it's all part of the game, but I always wonder did the postal service lose it? Is it sat in the person's house? Did they forget to register it, or just lose interest and they don't care?

It gets to me so much I think because I invest so much of myself in the postcard, I try to pick the nicest card to match the person's profile, write a positive message, obviously the cost of the card and postage is a factor, it's not always a cheap hobby!

Obviously I have no control over expired cards! How do I successfully resign myself to this?:D

klaus3428

Country Flag:
United Kingdom

United Kingdom
Postcrossing Username: klaus3428

[*] posted on 22-2-2019 at 09:15 AM

Agree it can be disappointing when cards go missing.
Maybe think about it differently? For every missing sent card how many cards did you actually receive? In my case a quick estimate comes to about 40 to 1. Doesn't look that bad.
RalfH

Country Flag:
Germany

Germany
Postcrossing Username: RalfH

[*] posted on 22-2-2019 at 12:38 PM

Expired does not mean lost. Some of my sent cards took more than 100 days to be registered, simply for the postal service is very slow (Russia, China, Mexico, Brazil ...) and the destination is very remote and/or the addressee works/studies elsewhere (China) or is in hospital for a long time when your card arrives.
zeroday

Country Flag:
United States

United States
Postcrossing Username: zeroday

Mood: Postcards make me happy...

[*] posted on 22-2-2019 at 02:16 PM